My story… How I became an Eagles fan.

I vaguely remember buying my first Eagles jersey at JCPenny in a mall when I was 8 years old. The jersey was of Terrell Owens. The time was a few days before Super Bowl 39.

My best friend at the time, Coby, was a huge Eagles fan and convinced me to start supporting them.

Growing up as a son of immigrants I never had any ties to any American sports franchises, so it was completely up to me to choose which ones I would identify with.

Geographically, it made sense to either choose the Eagles, Steelers, Giants or Jets.

I was born in Jersey, but moved to northeastern Pennsylvania when I was 5 years old with no real attachment to Jersey.

Steelers or Eagles.

Both teams were extremely good in this year, so it would come down to which one I felt I connected with the most.

The Eagles won from the start.

I never really considered the Steelers to be my team. I’m not sure how much of this has to do with my friend pressuring me into liking the Eagles, but I’m that guy who believes astrology.  I’ll just say it was fate.

I remember how great it felt to wear that Jersey for the first time and support my team in a championship.

Ever since that day, I’ve never looked back and look forward to every September when the regular season begins.

Although I may not possess the family history full of Eagles fans that many have, I’ve watched the team’s successes and failures and can’t wait until the day I see them raise that Lombardi.

I will pass on this love for the birds to my children because, E-A-G-L-E-S Eagles!!!

Leave a Reply

